Salem Township Library Visit

On Thursday, I got to go to one of my favorite small libraries, Salem Township Library in Yates City, Illinois (just outside of Peoria). This is the second time I’ve been there, and the reason I call it one of my favorites is that they are just so welcoming there. Yates City is a small town, and it seems like everyone knows everyone else there. (There’s a flyer on the bulletin board advertising farm-fresh eggs, which the seller will deliver to the library for you. That’s what a small town it is.)

What I really dig about visiting Salem Township is that everyone feels comfortable there — the Q&A after a talk is lively, and people actually discuss the answers. It is SO much fun to be a part of a discussion, rather than just standing at the front of a room spewing the answers. (Not that I have a problem with that. It’s just that I enjoy people’s participation too.)

I’ll be at Jacksonville Library next Tuesday, for Halloween. Join me!SalemTwp2017

Leave a comment